Driving While Intoxicated
A Driving While Intoxicated offense in the State of Texas can lead to disastrous consequences for an accused. If you’ve been charged with an intoxication charge, hiring someone that can provide you with a better understanding of the complex process will put you at ease. The Santos Law Firm, PLLC will provide an in-depth analysis of the facts and circumstances of your arrest, determine whether proper procedures were followed when officers administered the standardized field sobriety tests, and inspect whether required protocols were followed when officers obtained a specimen of either your breath or blood to determine the alcohol concentration in your system. Each angle will be analyzed to determine the best legal solution for your cause. To learn about strategic defenses to a DWI offense, visit our DWI Defenses page.
Time is of the essence when you’ve been charged with a Texas DWI. The State, via the Texas Department of Public Safety, will move to suspend your driver’s license or driving privileges 15 days from the date of your arrest if you fail to request to a hearing. This administrative process is labeled as the Administrative License Revocation program. The Santos Law Firm, PLLC is ready and willing to handle both your criminal and administrative proceeding on your behalf. Defending your rights in and out of court is a must.
Common Texas DWI Penalties:
|Offense level – Class B Misdemeanor||Offense level – Class A Misdemeanor||Offense level – 3rd Degree Felony|
|Up to a $2,000 fine||Up to a $4,000 fine||Up to a $10,000 fine|
|Punishable by 72 hours to 180 days of confinement||Punishable by 30 to 365 days of confinement||Punishable by 2 to 10 years in a Texas Department of Criminal Justice center.|
DWI Enhancements & Offense Level Changing Factors
- Open Container
- If there was an open container of alcohol in your car when arrested, the minimum term of confinement is six (6) days in the county jail.
- Child Passenger
- If there was a child under 15 years of age riding as a passenger with you while driving while intoxicated, the offense level is a State Jail Felony which is punishable by 6 months to 2 years in a State Jail Facility and a fine up to $10,000 not including annual surcharge fees.
- 1st DWI with a Blood Alcohol Concentration of .15 or greater
- Such determination will raise your 1st DWI Class B Misdemeanor to an offense level of a Class A Misdemeanor which carries a punishment range of 72 hours to 1 year.